12 Quotes To Get You Through The Rough Times 

Blake Lively- Glamour Mag
Sometimes I wake up and feel like I have nothing to give, I have literally no motivation to do anything but lay in bed in my cosy little duvet bubble and not deal with the world for a few hours. Sometimes there is a reason behind this, such as a bad or hectic few days or sometimes it just happens for no reason. I wake up and BAM! Life is just like here’s a giant dose grotchiness!

Recently this has been happening a lot, and over the years I’ve found that these breakdowns and bad days are super helpful in making me stronger in the long run. But in that moment, when it’s all gloomy, is when I feel at my weakest and sometimes nothing seems to help.

As much as I love my duvet bubble and snoozing all day, sometimes it just isn’t possible. I can’t take a day off to sleep or have lots of cat cuddles and wait it out, I just have to get my shit together push through it, like the big grown-up girl I am.

One thing I have found that on those days when I have to be a grown-up, having a little inspiration from others really helps. My best friends have a tendency to spam me texts/photos with vom-worthy, inspirational quotes, so here is just a little dose of everything-is-going-to-be-fine to keep you going and help you to be the sassy grown-up you are even when you feel like it’s all falling apart.

img_2197
Source-Pinterest
 ‘I always marvel at the human’s ability to keep going. They always manage to stagger on even with tears streaming down their faces.’ -Mark Zusak. (The Book Thief)

‘We are all broken that how the light gets in.’ – Ernest Hemmingway

‘You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.’ – Dita Von Teese

‘It aint how hard you hit; it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. that’s how winning is done.’ – Rocky Balboa.

‘Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.’ – Les Misérables

‘It’s not the strongest of species that survive, nor the most intelligent, but the most responsive to change.’ – Charles Darwin

‘Think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy.’ – Anne Frank

‘When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it.’ – Henry Ford.

‘I learned that there are troubles of more than one kind. some come from ahead, others come from behind. but I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. now my troubles are going to have trouble with me.’ – Dr Seuss

‘It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you may as well not have lived at all, in which case you fail by default.’ – JK Rowling

‘We all want things to stay the same. Settle for living in misery because we are afraid of change; of things crumbling to ruins. Ruin is a gift; ruin is the road to transformation.’ – Elizabeth Gilbert

‘Failure is a bruise not a tattoo.’ – Jon Sinclair

‘A diamond is a chunk of coal that did well under pressure.’ – Henry Kissinger

My personal favourite is ‘You’re a ghost driving a meat covered skeleton made from stardust, what do you have to be scared of?’ I have no idea of the origin, I read it on Tumblr around 5 years ago and it has just kind of stuck with me ever since. I think its possibly one of the reasons I went into Psychology, as it got me thinking- Why? It also just makes me believe in myself and just reinforces the inner ‘Get your shit together La, you can do this!’. 

What are some of your go-to things to do when you’re having a rough time?  Do you have any favourite inspirational quotes? 

 


Leave a Reply...

